POC Trial

….Last night I started my trial of sleeping with Oxygen and using a POC….

A Portable Oxygen Concentrator is a machine that ‘makes’ oxygen at 93% out of room air (21% oxygen)

This is the modern day equivalent of all those tanks and cylinders of gaseous O2 and LOX.

I am doing a trial because it has been suggested by my Team that I should be sleeping with O2. And coupled with the fact that I have a  very temperamental back weakness, the weight of those cylinders has meant that I have not been entirely compliant with using my O2 when out and about. I also utterly refuse to wheel it behind me.

This is what was delivered to me yesterday afternoon: Yes, a lot of jumbled wires and chargers, car charger, battery belt charger, carry case and the rest. But it was so simple to assemble and charged in 3 hours. I will get 6.5hrs out of it on 2L pulse dose.

I am trialling the Airsep Freestyle The world’s smallest, lightest POC and absolutely perfect for me for travelling.

I am keeping a list of questions and notes to discuss on Tuesday when I will make the decision. In fact I feel I haven’t slept very much last night because it is so quiet I sort of kept half an eye on the flashing green lights as it pulsed. Tonight I will run it from the ensuite so I am not so tempted to stare at it.

Just look at how tiny it is compared with the Pari travel neb. It weights 2kg (4.4lbs) Lighter than a Lady’s handbag these days.

And another picture of them side on so you can see how the two size up:

Like with all things new I am feeling a bit in two minds-a tad reticent. But my statistics this morning were unheard of for me. I did not use any extra nebs last night. I woke with a PF of 271 which is high yellow for me and with SATS of 97% which never happens unless I’m on major O2 for a long time.

The decision will be made over the long weekend.

….I’ll post the answer on Tuesday!….

4 Responses to POC Trial

  1. Kerri says:

    I hope this thing is a success with you! I know how ya like your adventures! 🙂
    Thanks for sizing it up with that neb 😉 I now have a way better grasp on the size of the POC.

    I’ll be waiting to see how your weekend goes! Hope it’s fabulous!

  2. Elisheva says:

    “Lighter than a Lady’s handbag these days.” – lol :). Well, sometimes!

    Isn’t getting new things fun? Especially when they’re small and compact. I like small and compact things.

    • Kerri says:

      The handbag comment cracked me up
      too. As long as you don’t compare it to my school backpack! (Rucksack? Is that what you call them over there?)

      • Ha ha! It’s a backpack for me! Actually we call them Jansports. Period!! LOL!
        Using the little blighter atm. Not picking up a tank with my back this bad. It’s looking like we’ll be approving it. Spoke to my Nurse today. She said she knew I’d fall in love with it!

Leave a Reply

