A No Brainer?

…..this is a quickie postette to say…..

Why oh why had I put it off for so long? I have been poo-pooing everybody’s advice that I need to sleep with Oxygen and I have been adamant that I didn’t. Yet after my 1st two experimental trial nights, I am like a whole new rejuvenated person.

Old without O2 Sus: My body has to fight so hard to oxygenate, my lungs get so tight, I wake time and time again, wander round the house, take a breathing treatment, get a drink, go back to sleep, repeat the process, and get up in the morning feeling like I hadn’t been to bed or hadn’t slept, dark rings around my eyes, and this thick muzzy sinusy headache. OK so I have a PND, but hey!

New with O2 Sus: Boing, zing, zippity do-dah! That was me leaping out of bed. Well, as much as I can with a pair of temperamental bellows and a rather dodgy back!

Immediately I checked my SATS and….

That’s a heart rate of 87 and O2 SATS of 97% Wowee! (P.S. The Bio sculpture nail gel is totally  fine and has been checked and approved by my Docs, and I am never made to remove it in hospital, LOL!)

So I phoned J at work (on a Night shift) to tell him the news. Then I loaded up my morning nebs (5mg Ventolin and 500mcg Atrovent), and….

Ditto the Wowee! a mind blowing PF of 325 and even better, GREEN! I have green zoned it once since returning from Palm Springs in April-and that was…, yep…, YESTERDAY!

That’s a PF increase from 242 to 325 this morning and a SATS increase from 92-97% overnight.

…..Yep, I reckon it’s a no brainer-but I’m still waiting til Tuesday for definite!….

13 Responses to A No Brainer?

  1. kerri says:

    This is awesome! I hope you have a GREAT day! 🙂

    • I know kiddo.
      I’m over here in En-ger-land, actually doing a spot of Awe-Some,
      and you’re over there in Canad’er, doing a whole lot of sick right now.

      I hope you sleep well and wake up feeling a bit better. You poor thing

      Hugs x

  2. breathinstephen says:

    That’s great news Sus!

    I could see getting the zippidy doo da effect after getting good nights sleep that the O2 provides, but I’m perplexed as to how the extra O2 helped your peak flows? It must be the combination of the morning neb and the nighttime O2.

    In any case, it’s definitely a no-brainer.

    Btw..That’s a cool little pf meter.

    • Thanks Steve!
      It is so very good to wake up feeling alive. It is definitely that big overnight O2 boost that has hoiked my figures up. I’ve already spoken to my Doc about today’s readings. I’m just proving what they’ve been theorising with me but I didn’t want to take the 24/7 plunge. (I did rather bust a gut for that reading by the way!!)
      How are you doing-getting better day by day yet?
      Hugs x

  3. Amy says:

    Wow, that’s fantastic! I’m so glad and it helps, and um, totally feeling like hiding my hands after that top photo.

  4. mommato2beauties says:

    Awesome. I can totally understand not wanting to take the plunge to 24/7. It’s something about the head knowing it’s good, but the rest of you not being there yet. I’m glad that the overnight O2 is helpful.

    Tell me what kind of polish that is again. I have a 6 year old who is very angry with me that I won’t let her polish her nails. I keep telling her the O2 monitor won’t read through it. You might just be a little girl’s hero, if it’s something we can get in the States.

    • This is the product. I have had it tested and approved-naked fingers, geled fingers, toes, ear lobes the lot. We know the readings are accurate and the same. I also know it is not yet available in the USA.
      http://www.biosculpture.co.uk/

      However my docs told me, light or clear coloured varnish is ok, just not the really dark ones. I can’t use varnish as the smell triggers me.

      I hope your 6 year old can dress up as a Princess once in a while!

  5. Elisheva says:

    Do the fumes from the nail polish bother your lungs?

    I see why you’d be avoiding it. Same reason I tend to avoid meds sometimes. I just don’t want to admit to myself that I’m actually THAT sick (ill?). But I’m so happy to head that it’s helping you! yay! Have a great day!

  6. olivia says:

    Great to see you posting again . love reading your blog. also fantastic news about how much the o2 helps over night and also you amazing wee portable oxygen. It probably the same size as a portaneb box!!!! How modern technology can evolve!!!!
    take care x

    • Thanks, Olivia.
      It actually much smaller than my Medix World Traveller neb which I used to take to the USA before we bought the little yellow submarine Pari one!
      xx

  7. Elisheva says:

    Hey, I know this has nothing to do with your post, but we totally need to discuss ESC! I think you’re one of the only other ESC fans out there in asthma blog land. I did another post on it in my blog. I have a few others from before, under the “Eurovision” tag. Have a great rest of your weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

