12 of 12: June

….Today was a very special 12 of 12 because it marked the occasion of my Baby Brother’s Wedding….

Although I missed posting this on the 12th of June here in England, I am reliably informed that it is still Saturday the 12th in Hawaii, where Jonathan and Sarah will be spending their Honyemoon!

Here follows a series of 12 photos from moments through an incredible, and very emotional day. It is not every day that one’s very special baby brother gets married-(for he is still a baby-16.5 years younger than me and still loves his big sister hugs!).

For those of you who are not familiar with the traditional English wedding day or of the Christian faith, we had a Nuptial Mass in Sarah’s Family church followed by a wedding breakfast and then a disco/party for all the young ones. Gosh, there really is an age and culture divide between us 40 somethings, and all those 25 year olds.

What a wonderful day though-The weather was at it’s finest-sunshine, and the right amount of breeze and shade to prevent the men wilting in their morning dress and top hats. Yes, the hat shop did very well out of all of us!

And at 11.55am, my Brother announced the organist had an injured hand and couldn’t play the final voluntary, Widor’s Toccata at the end and “please would I!” No time for nerves-just had to whip Julian’s socks off him to pad my feet a bit on the pedals-well, I was wearing expensive tights and very high heels which had to be removed during the signing of the register so I could sneak off to the organ and get ready-no music, and I haven’t touched that piece for 10 years at least, but it’s one you never forget when you’re an organist.

Anyway-here are my 12 memories of such an auspicious event:

1) Our Room Service Breakfast Tray!


2) Jonathan’s old School brought a minibus of his chums up for the wedding


3) Julian and I outside in the Churchyard before the ceremony


4) Mummy and I outside in the churchyard before the ceremony


5) Julian in his Morning Dress, camera always in hand, of course!


6) The Bridal Car. A 1972 Mercedes. Stunning, and in mint condition


7) Our service booklets, place names, button holes and ‘favours’-made by Sarah.


8 ) It is so funny seeing their names written together like this


9) Our photo audience with the Bride and Groom outside in the courtyard of the drinks reception


10) The flower arrangements from the church and reception


11) Their wedding cake


12) My place setting at the reception


It really was such a beautiful day, full of so much love and fun and with so many happy memories for years to come.

We are all so proud to welcome Sarah to our family. She has changed her name and is now one of our clan! And I now have 2 sisters called Sarah. LOL at that!

….Congratulations to the Bride and Groom and may they have a very happy life together….

15 Responses to 12 of 12: June

  1. Emz says:

    Fab fab fab fab!!!!I love weddings!sounds like an amazing day!and I’m sure your organ playing was stunning haha ;P X

  2. Becca says:

    It looks like a really lovely day! And the photos are beautiful 🙂 x

  3. Kerri says:

    These pictures are gorgeous, and everyone looks stunning. I love the picture of Julian with his camera, and of course, the one of Jonathan and Sarah!! (Also love how it happened to work out that Julian and Jonathan and Susannah and Sarah start with the same letters ;D.)

    Looks like an amazing day, and a fabulous one for a 12 of 12!

  4. Ursl says:

    Love your beautiful pics.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Ursl

  5. Elisheva says:

    Goregeous pics! That’s cool you have a bro my age. How many siblings are between you guys?

    • None! He was a surprise late arrival and we couldn’t have been happier about it. That’s why he and I are so close, I was like his 2nd mother as well as big sister!

  6. Jill says:

    Congratulations to all! Looks like a fantastically flawless day. 🙂

  7. Amy says:

    Most of the time, I’m glad we’re pretty casual people in America, but these photos make me so jealous.

    Top hats! Vintage cars! You guys look fabulous. Congratulations to your brother.

  8. What a great day to have a 12 of 12! Lots of family, friends, and celebration. Congratulations to your brother and new sister-in-law, and well done on the stand in organ playing!

    (I was horrendously late putting my 12 of 12 up, but they are now. I held off on commenting so that people knew when I left a comment, my own was up – the only way I could think of to let people know when I posted! http://dogearedphotos.blogspot.com/2010/06/12-of-12-v50-june.html)

    • That’s so very kind of you to say that. My little brother is one of life’s gems as is his gorgeous bride. I do feel truly blessed to have such a wonderful family, old and new! (loved your pics too-so professional-and I’ve commented on your blog!)

Leave a Reply

