Was I right?

….Irritations in my life often come from people’s insensitive remarks…..

Yesterday at school, a friendly colleague asked me how I was, to which I replied with a smile, “extremely tired and just hanging in for the end of term”

Unfortunately she did not follow this with any amount of a) sympathy or b) empathy, and I got a reply of “How can you be tired when you only work 3 days a week?” (and there was a degree of emphasis on the words in italic)

Well, I could have snidely come up with something along the lines of …..”but you only teach ********” (insert lame subject of your choice)

Instead, I spurted out “I may only be at school 3 days a week, but I spend the whole 7 days just trying to stay alive”

And off I scooted….

….Was I right to say that, or was she?….

(PS: Sometimes I fail to see any amount of humour in anything, and especially when I am so tired and under par-I get it from my Mother!)

Oh, and if the person who said that just happens to be reading my blog-yep, it did upset me.

9 Responses to Was I right?

  1. Emz says:

    Who who who??
    Just ignore them..they have no idea!Xx

  2. mommato2beauties says:

    sometimes, people need to be put in their place. It’s hard for people, I think, because they don’t walk in their shoes. I know how badly I feel when I’m flaring, and I know that it’s a fraction of how you feel all the time…but if someone has never struggled to breathe, has never felt like they were suffocating…they just CAN’T fathom it. I’m so sorry your feelings were hurt. People need to think before they speak.

  3. kerri says:

    I agree with Sara, and I totally think you were complete right in what you said.

    Also, teaching music is a heck of a lot more strenuous than teaching a boring classroom subject like English or whatever. I’m sure even WITHOUT severe asthma you’d expend more energy in one DAY teaching music than in a week-plus of teaching in a boring-type classroom!

  4. Amy says:

    Absolutely, you were right.

    If I had to put up with what you and Steve do every day, just to keep breathing, I would probably be insufferable 24/7, even WITHOUT the insensitive comments.

    If anything, I think your response was admirably restrained. 🙂

  5. You’re all so kind and supportive. I still feel a bit wobbly about it. I had my cry this morning when I felt truly s**t and still had to make it in for a crap Friday with rubbish staff training after school, that extra hour of torture which nobody wants to stay for. And we shared some tweets during it, and were in fact sitting on the same faculty table.

    I think things between my colleague/(friend) and I are ok. She was equally upset with the fact that I had written that post and quite honestly, maybe I shouldn’t have.

    But bottling up stuff that hurts can make things worse and I might have reacted to her face if I hadn’t have offloaded here.

    Anyway, it’s the weekend, and I think I deserve my four days off! LOL!

    Oh, and I happen to think the subjects my friend teaches aren’t lame, but pretty hardcore and I respect her for what she does in her position, as I certainly couldn’t put in that much energy and/or effort at school!

    • mommato2beauties says:

      honestly…the only reason she would have to be upset about the post would be if you named names. Otherwise, I doubt she’s upset that you wrote it, she’s upset that she got called out on a comment that wasn’t very sensitive at the very least, and downright rude at the most. I know that when I’m called on the carpet for poor behavior, I often “blame” the person saying something, because I’m embarrassed by my behavior.

      I still don’t think you were wrong…either your comment to the other person, or blogging it out. Enjoy your weekend.

      • Like I just mentioned to Elisheva, nothing slanderous, or libellous and most certainly and definitely no naming of names.
        And yet I have come out the wounded one here, still feeling her wrath….

  6. Elisheva says:

    Yep. Just like I get frustrated when people can’t understand why I take half a week off uni/work for “just a cold”.

    But you’re allowed to get frustrated. And this is a big part of what blogs are for. You get to express yourself and write whatever you want. Instead of bottling up your feelings. I say this post was totally legit and called for.

    • Thanks for that, Elisheva. I totally agree that a blog should be the place where one can off-load. As long as one is not slanderous or libellous…
      I certainly have not mentioned said person’s name anywhere.

Leave a Reply

