12 of 12: August 2010

….So here follows my 12 photos taken during today, the 12th day of the month of August. Not quite a usual day as we are on vacation in the Californian Desert….

I’ll also do my best to not include too many swimming pool, food and margarita shots-yes-I’ll try-but I can’t guarantee it!

1) I woke up early, around 6am, but only because my Sister texted me from the UK! My morning ritual here in our hotel suite is to walk into the bathroom and switch off/disconnect E.T. my POC. As I sleep with oxygen we always put him in another room so we don’t hear the hum and click he makes. The bathroom is large, cool and a perfect distance for my 25ft long cannula!

2) I then switched the kettle on and started another morning ritual here. That of emailing the Family our daily photos and expedition jaunts. Yesterday we went to Idyllwild. You might like to read about it here on my blog and here on my 365.

Then I went out and about with my iPhone and took the following photos of local things of interest down the Palm Springs Strip.

3) This is the fountain and bronze statue of Sonny Bono, the one time Mayor of this city.


4) Another Fountain: This/these are outside the little museum downtown. We have always loved this spot. It is right opposite our favorite Mexican restaurant.


5) Whoever Miss Cornelia was, she apparently lived here in this house-now a local landmark and a living museum. Kind of ‘Little House on the Prairie’ meets Palm Springs.


6) LG’s Prime Steakhouse. My adopted big brother and our best friend, Chip, works here. Really good juicy fat American steaks! Am I sounding like an advert for the joint?!


7) Looking down the bottom end of the Strip (Palm Canyon Drive)


8 ) Elvis’s Star. It is on the pavement outside the old Palm Springs library. Did you know Elvis and Priscilla had their honeymoon in Palm Springs? You can still take a tour round the old house, in fact I think it has an open house this weekend.


9) This is the water wall in the newly renovated Hyatt Regency Suites hotel where we stay. It is behind the jacuzzi and makes a lovely backdrop especially when lit up at night.


10) Thursday night is Street Fayre night. Palm Canyon is closed off and becomes a myriad of stalls, farmers goods, musicians and food tastings. We love it and go every Thursday when we’re here. I particularly enjoy the free jerky tasters.


11) We thought this was hilarious-the temperature was still over 100F at 7.50pm and this poor stall owner was roasting his kettle corn in an enormous scalding cauldron, complete with a full face visor and leather gauntlets!



12) Dinner at the Chop House, at the end of the Strip and the  end of the Street Fayre. These were our pre-dinner drinks! Sorry-I couldn’t refuse one margarita (and beer) picture!


….Of course the noticeable difference for me this month is that my location is Palm Springs, California!

If you’d like to read other bloggers’ 12 of 12′s, go to Chad Darnell’s Blog….

7 Responses to 12 of 12: August 2010

  1. Elisheva says:

    Pretty pretty! I keep thinking how you’re almost on the complete OPPOSITE side of the world from me. Crazy. Don’t you get lightheaded being upside down all the time? 😛

  2. TJ says:

    What wonderful photos of Palm Springs. I’ve never been but now I know I would like to go for sure. I love the fountain next to your favourite Mexican restaurant. I also really like the picture of all the stalls at the night time market. All the beautiful palms. I would love to see the blue wall fountain in action I’m sure it lovely. Great photos, thanks as always for sharing and I loo forward to next months shots, Take care…

    • You’re welcome TJ. Thanks for stopping by again. You’d love it here-and it’s a relatively easy journey for you-fly to LA then take the shuttle plane down here!
      Take Care yourself too!

  3. Jill says:

    Does this make you a “California Girl” now!? 🙂
    Safe travels.

    * Cyber-jam on it’s way!

    • Thanks Jill-delicious jam by the way-having it with my PB in a sandwich, so yes definitely I’m a California Girl!
      (Always have been though-I grew up here!)
      This is my home from home. Kinda fun to share it for a 12 of 12! x

  4. Looks like a fantastic way to spend a 12 of 12 – great weather, food and friends!

    Sorry I’m late commenting – my own 12 only went up on the 16th lol, as I was visiting friends. But better late than never for posting and commenting 😉

Leave a Reply

