Allergy App

….A good friend of mine, Hannah, just sent me a link to this new software App for smartphone users, Foodwiz ….

The marketing says it is a “revolutionary new product that will transform the lives of people who suffer from food allergies and intolerances”

There is a free 30 day trial available from the iTunes store, and I am going to get the App today and start trying it out.

It basically works when you scan an item in a store and the App taps into a giant data base. You set up your information with what you are allergic to, be it nuts, eggs, or in my case, wheat and gluten. The product data base is updated daily and two of the UK’s most giant superstores are advocating and promoting it’s use, namely Tesco and Asda.

I am not a commercial user, I am merely a food allergic member of the public who thinks this is a fantastic idea and would like to share this new product with my friends here, like my friend Hannah told me about it last night. I am sorry but it will probably only work in the UK but there may be other similar Apps available in your own country.

I am also not endorsing this, I have no idea of it’s successes and flaws- I am just about to download the free 30 day trial myself.

….I’ll check back with an update and opinion once I have road tested it for a few weeks. So watch this space!….

 

Leave a Reply

