Vampires (of the Cholesterol Testing sort), Ahoy!

….Watch out, it’s that evil lady with the knitting needle  sized cannula again!….

So this morning I dragged myself up to Mount Vernon for the start of the blood tests at 8.30am. It needed to be done 1st thing, as I was having a 12 hr fasting cholesterol test repeated, and I’m one of these people who needs to eat as soon as they wake up. So by 8.30ish and after the drive up, there I was almost fainting. It turned out everybody had the same idea and I was twenty numbers behind the first person. And with only one vampire working I waited an hour and forty five minutes for a 30 second blood test. Aaargh, indeed! But it’s done.

I’d had my cholesterol done in Novemeber as part of a full blood panel when I was really sick, and I was astonished to find it was way higher than it should be. So little skinny mini me was put on daily Benecol by the GP and told to get it retested in 3 months. Well, 3 months is up and my Dietician’s appointment is round the corner. And she wants the results so we can then work out new supplements (all mine were stopped in lieu of my high lipids, and need to be restarted) as I am having great difficulty maintaining my weight without my Scandishakes and Ensure Pluses-which clearly contain too much bad cholesterol.

S w i n g s   and   R o u n d a b o u t s !!

I need the calories and weight gain but not the fat and cholesterol part. There is a limit to how many baked potatoes I can eat as I do not have that sort of appetite, and for the last 3 months I have had to give up the cheese and butter anyway. Sigh.

If you know about these things, there are two tests: one for your ‘good’ and one for your ‘bad’ lipids. Weirdly, my good is excellent as I eat so many healthy fruits and vegetables. But my bad lipids (due to the high fat supplements, full fat milk etc), are  bad. Hey ho!

There is always the faint chance that I may be one of these people who just has high cholesterol even though I am really skinny. But nobody else in my Family does.

So, in a couple of days I’ll know-and of course, I’ll broadcast it here.

Sus’s Cholesterol in November 2010 was: 6.99 (Normal is below 5)

Sus’s Cholesterol in April 2011 is: 5.14

….Check back here in a few days when I have the results….

9 Responses to Vampires (of the Cholesterol Testing sort), Ahoy!

  1. Rachael says:

    Hi Sus

    I have been prescribed Vitajoule Powder, it’s a carbohydrate powder, no fat or protein as far as I can tell. Also gluten/wheat/lactose/egg free!

    Plays havoc with my sugars, but like you say it’s swings and roundabouts!

    http://www.vitaflo.co.uk/Resources//x/t/8/Vitajoule%20data%20sheet.pdf

    All the best to you

    Rachaelx

    • Hi Rachael-lovely to hear form you!

      I have had Vitajoule powders. I usually have Maxijul, by Vitajoule comes in the little instant sachets (100kcal each) which are easy when travelling to whack on restaurant food etc. And they were pink!

      I also mix my powders up in water and add squash and drink it- like a very high cal glass of squash.

      I’m still on ProCal Shot, 3x30ml a day so that adds about another 300 calories-but the trouble for me has been all the Scandishakes made with full fat milk, fortified milk, jersey milk, plus the liberal use of butter eggs and cream.
      Ok I managed to gain a few kgs-not that’s you notice-but it has wrecked my cholesterol!

      I’ll check back with you when my dietician has a new plan-she always said I should concentrate on gaining some weight and worry about my cholesterol later. Well after 6 years my cholesterol is more the worry!

      Hope you’re keeping as well as you can!

      Love to you and Matt xx

      • Rachael says:

        That’s interesting Sus, they said to me to worry more about my weight than my sugars, but really it was my sugars which were worrying.

        I guess I have been protected a little by having to be lactose free – only been able to have provide xtras and vitajoule for that reason. Calogen really upset my stomach. Would you ever consider over night feeds?

        Thanks for remembering Matt, he is doing good thanks. We have moved to a new house, so he has lots to do now!!

        All the best to you as always
        Rachaelx

      • Rachel…..I have done night feeds 5 years ago in hospital but please, no way to having them again, or at home. As long as I can keep my weight stable it isn’t necessary, I hope!
        Luckily I am not lactose intolerant-just gluten, so I have done all the Calogens and Ensures Pluses without issue, until now with my cholesterol. Calogen is revolting but I used to add it to a yoghurt or to my Scandishakes and just down it. Pro Cal tastes more like the cream off of rice pudding-actually really nice in tea or coffee type drinks, and in yoghurt.

        The new house sounds great. I hope you guys have fun doing your DIY.

        Hugs xx

  2. kerri says:

    Sus, do vampires say “ahoy” or is that pirates? 😉

    I hope your hard work is shown in your results — are you still freezing the benecol yogurt? 😉

    • Oh you made me laugh as ever, Kerri! Vampires with Parrots on their shoulders and a wooden leg, kinda like Long John Phlebotamist!

      Yes I do still freeze the foul Benecol yoghurts. Plus we have the Benecol spread and I have the Benecol yoghurt drink every morning to take my pills!

      Let’s hope it has made a difference! xx

      Ack Ack to Benecol-it had better work!

      • kerri says:

        Long John Phlebotomist is killing me laughing over here.

        Benecol spread, that sounds . . . uh . . . pleasant? 😉

      • Ha ha, enjoy the laugh it’s good for the lungs!
        …it tastes like plastic margarine, only worse. The only flavour is the salt and that can’t be good-but it is guaranteed to reduce cholesterol! xx

      • kerri says:

        LOL. Reduce cholesterol, increase blood pressure. Hopefully not!

Leave a Reply

