12 of 12: June 2011

…. So here follows my series of 12 photographs taken throughout today, the 12th of June, 2011….

Gosh-I cannot believe that it is exactly a whole year since my Brother’s wedding to the lovely Dr Sarah. You can track back to that wonderful day and weekend, here.

This past month since May 12th has been warm, dry and exciting in the garden. All our veggies are doing really well with many of them now formed and the rest are in flower. All the roses are in bloom, and as we have not yet had the predicted hose pipe ban, I am still able to run the irrigation and water the lawns. Anna-Bell continues to flourish and brings us more love than we could ever comprehend. She is now 10 months old! Half term came and went and I am now 6 weeks away from the summer break. The long upwards slog!

It’s nice that with today being a Sunday, I am able to go to visit my Parents with AB-sadly Julian is working a late shift, so it’ll just be the two of us driving over to Elbury. I’m having tea there so am taking her dinner with me! However, annoyingly, it is pouring with rain!

Anyway, enjoy my day!

1  ) 6.45am AB and I went out to a cloudy morning spitting with rain. Our lawn is long, the gardener was due at 5pm yesterday but it rained in our slot so he didn’t come!

2   ) 8am I made AB her breakfast. Chicken, rice and kibble and we tried her with some mushy peas for the first time. 

3   ) 8.20am I went through the two heavy bags of yesterday’s newspapers. J brings them home from work. I am something of a newspaper-a-holic–always have been. We get them all, every day and have a lot of recycling at the end of the week!

4   ) 10.30am I had to do some mending. AB dismembered the legs off Ducky, an arm and a leg off Teddy and ripped through Donkey’s neck with her piranha teeth!

5   ) 11am Sadly no walk today-pouring rain across the south of England……((and AB has now chewed the eyes off her Ducky so out comes the mending basket again!))


6   ) 1.00pm Packed up Julian’s dinner for his evening shift at work-I made us fish and chips today! And we found out doglet likes those mushy peas!

7   ) 3.15pm Arrived at Elbury to visit my Parents. Mum made me GF scones with lime curd and a lovely cup of Lady Grey tea.

8   ) 4.00pm Doglet was quite happy playing inside, and settled in with one of her new raw hide chews, on the warm rug.

9   ) 4.45pm Took AB round the garden before tea and took a few photos whilst we were out there in the wet…..

10   ) Mum’s little wildlife pond-complete with Newts and water lilies.

11   ) The Elbury garden.

12   ) 5.30pm My high tea. Smoked trout. Yummy!

 

((8.35pm: AB and I are home now-the Canadian Grand Prix is still waiting to be restarted))

Hope you’ve enjoyed my diary day, 12 pictures taken on the 12th of the month.

Night, night from us here, and see you next month!

….If you’d like to read other bloggers’ 12 of 12′s, go to Chad Darnell’s Blog.



8 Responses to 12 of 12: June 2011

  1. kerri says:

    Because I’m that Canadian, when you said you went to the garden before tea, I remembered that the garden was the yard, but of course was like “Wait . . . you just HAD tea.”

    Then I realized you didn’t mean literal TEA, but you know, dinner. Oh, the UK is so confusing 😉 :] teehee.

    • The scones were with a cup of tea, like traditional afternoon tea.
      High Tea is like a supper on a Sunday-but because the tradition is to have a roast lunch you have a salad supper with a cup of tea and it’s called High Tea!
      Northerners always call dinner ‘tea’. We call dinner, dinner. Supper is often a bed time drink or a late dinner.

      Lots of confusion eh?!

  2. Jill says:

    Your puppy is the cutest little thing I’ve ever seen! If she were mine, I’d snuggle with her 24/7. Seriously!

    I was wondering if she’d like the peas. My girl is finicky about veggies… some she likes, others she rejects. Will have to try peas sometime.

    Your garden is lovely – so lush and colorful. Thanks for sharing.

    • Aw, thanks, Jill. She is a darling! So mellow, so good and always wanting to please. It was hard work to establish her good behaviour and routine initially but things are really paying off now as she is so well behaved.

      Dogs love frozen peas-especially in the summer as they are cool on their tongues and a source of water. AB also loves a cold carrot and pieces of cabbage, but her favourite snack is lettuce-wet and crunchy! When I read the ingredients on the tin and realised mushy peas were all natural (I’d always thought they contained vinegar too), I knew she’d enjoy them. Great vitamin C too!

  3. TJ says:

    Nice 12 of 12. I can’t say that I’m a fan of mushy peas but I sure could go for some of those scones and lemon curd. Anyway, thanks for sharing your day…

  4. Elisheva says:

    Nice pictures. When you serve AB kibble mixed with human food, does she eat around the kibble or eat it too? Our dogs never ate their chow if there was human food available.

    Mmm… Fish n’ chips! Had those for the first time ever this year. In Israel. At a gourmet restaurant. They’re considered exotic. I should try the real thing next time I’m there…

    • Kibble: AB eats it as a snack midway through the day, she likes it mixed in with her chicken and rice and doesn’t leave it or eat round it. We used to feed her solely on it but starting adding extra nutrients, veggies, rice/protein to it as I tasted it and thought it was like stale cardboard! We have tried her on several kinds but she seems to like the most run of the mill and cheapest kind-Bakers. It suits her -although I do have to break the big ones up.

      Fish and chips: yum! The one we use locally for take out is in a Jewish area and fries in Matzo-although I have to just pick the fish out of it, or get sick!

      Nothing beats chip shop chips on a cold day! xx

Leave a Reply

