Foggy Birthday Party!

…..Yesterday we had an incredible day of thick, cold fog…..

We went to visit my Sister in Esher as it was Oliver’s birthday, and I tried to take photos coming round the M25 whilst J was driving-but you could barely make out the dot matrix boards. The Christmas lights in Ruislip were seemingly invisible as the cloud was really down to ground level.

One of my dear friends, Michelle put this picture online a few days ago and I asked to borrow it.

It gives a really good indication of how fog can affect me. Although we did celebrate Oli-Will’s birthday and managed a very foggy walk around my Sister’s estate.

And then last night, as quickly as the fog had appeared, it went! When we went out again at 8pm to pick up some pizza express salads, it was largely gone. Not soon enough though, given the havoc it played with my lungs particularly in the late afternoon as darkness fell. But a bolus dose of Pred and the air con running on dehumidify all night long has now largely fixed things again for me!

…..And yes, sometimes it is ok to just sit and breathe, particularly if it is really foggy outside!…..

 

 

6 Responses to Foggy Birthday Party!

  1. Elisheva says:

    Aw, he’s cute!

    Been having weather-induced breathing issues over here too. Have to keep reminding myself how important the rain is. And the fog, hail and thunder we’ve been having today. Fun.

    Anyway, I hope it lets up where you are and you start to feel better! (And now back to my regularly scheduled translation, coughing and listening to British boy bands…)

    • I hope you recover soon and don’t suffer like this on your UK trip. Please get yourself sorted and be prepared! xx

      • Elisheva says:

        Thanks! It’s stopped raining and warmed up a bit and I’m doing much better today and even hope to go running this evening (It’s been a while). I got refills of meds and have enough to last thru my trip and longer. Strongly considering staying on maintenance meds the whole time I’m away being as how I’m going to be in cold yucky weather in foreign countries, I might as well not take chances. The problem is getting myself to be responsible and take it here during the winter.

  2. Danielle says:

    I LOVE this picture. A beautiful reminder, thank you for sharing!!! oxoxo

  3. Sara C. says:

    Mariella had to write a little bit about what she likes to do in the fog (it was a response to a poem about a foggy day) It broke my heart that her response was “I like to play inside when it’s foggy. When it’s foggy out, I have too much trouble breathing. I think when it’s foggy, it’s very humid, and my lungs don’t like it when it’s humid. That is why I like to play indoors when it’s foggy.”

    I’m so glad you were still able to enjoy the birthday celebration.

Leave a Reply

